Mount Athos

Greece, Central Macedonia, Chalkidiki, Mount Athos


Mount Athos is a mountain and peninsula in Northern Greece. A World Heritage Site and autonomous polity within the Hellenic Republic, Mount Athos is home to 20 stauropegial Eastern Orthodox monasteries under the direct jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople. Mount Athos is commonly referred to as the "Holy Mountain" and the entity as the "Athonite State". In the Classical era, while the mountain was called Athos, the peninsula was known as Acté or Akté. Mount Athos has been inhabited since the ancient times and is known for its nearly 1,800-year continuous Christian presence and its long historical monastic traditions, which date back to at least 800 A.D. and the Byzantine era.d slopes reaching up to 2,033 metres. The surrounding seas, especially at the end of the peninsula, can be dangerous.

Basic Characteristics

  • culture

2360 Views / 71 Users